chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

how you like them apples?

with 4 comments

have you ever seen the movie Good Will Hunting?  it’s one of my favorites.  this is saying a lot because my favorite movie list consists of stupid comedies and animated films.  so for this movie to be on my list of favorite movies is pretty important.  if you haven’t seen it, i highly suggest you watch it.  not only did matt damon and ben affleck write a really solid screenplay, but it’s just an awesome movie.

why do i like it so much?  because i identify so much with matt damon’s character – will hunting.  get out of here, you?  enoch?  identify with matt damon?  yeah.  i do.  allow me to explain.  will hunting plays this super intelligent, good looking tough guy, much like me.  he is able to do pretty much anything he sets his mind to, and even things that he doesn’t set his mind to.  i feel like i’m like this.  not that i’m super intelligent or anything, but i feel like whatever i put my mind to, i could probably do.  a lot of my greek school colleagues make fun of me because i seem to pick it up pretty easily.  with that being said, they, like ben affleck in the movie, my classmates get mad b/c i pick it up so easily but have no passion for it.  they want to see me go after something i’m passionate about.  they want to know what gets me fired up.  i want to know this too.  in the movie, it’s a girl that will hunting leaves everything for.  maybe it’ll be the same for me.

but that’s beside the point.  the main thing is, what am i passionate about?  what am i willing to struggle for?  i don’t want to go the safe road.  and i don’t want to do what other people say i should do just because i can.  i want to do something that i get excited about.  and i can’t wait to find out.

Written by enoch

August 11, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Posted in from my mind

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You should get excited about Greek exegesis. :mrgreen:

    tonEX

    August 11, 2008 at 8:56 pm

  2. dude i totally relate. i thought i’d be happy with my job. and while it’s cool, i don’t really feel passionate about it. i feel like my excitement may have just been a result of others’ enthusiasm while i was in grad school.

    quarter-life crisis perhaps 😛

    hg

    August 11, 2008 at 10:00 pm

  3. i think its true love that urks people to leave everything and go for what they desire. not just with relationships but with everything we love doing like painting,etc.

    Anonymous

    August 11, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  4. […] how you like them apples? August 2008 3 comments 5 […]


Leave a Reply

