chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

taster’s choice

with 7 comments

yesterday my site hit a milestone: the most visits ever in one day!  thanks for making it all possible, readers, even though i believe my blog to be nothing more than stretching for ideas and ramblings about nothing.  but with that being said, i hope it continues to grow and gain popularity.  keep reading guys!

now, on to more important matters.

food.  food is so intriguing.  isn’t it funny how one thing can taste so different to different people?  i’m pretty sure there isn’t one food out there that everyone likes.  but you would think there would be right?  i mean, we’re all people.  shouldn’t there be at least one thing in the whole world that we all eat?  i think the closest thing would be bread or rice.  i say this because recently, one of my friends was telling about his diet.  this dude does not eat any vegetables, and is very picky about everything else that goes into his body.  and not picky like he’s watching his carbs, but picky like he’ll pick out certain things out of his food.  i found it so fascinating cause he’s not unhealthy or anything.  he’s not morbidly obese and doesn’t have high cholesterol.

what makes our tastes so different?  something so delicious to me could be grotesquely disgusting to someone else.  you know what my theory is?  not that you get a chance to answer or anything, but i believe that if kids when they are infants are exposed and fed a myriad of foods, they’ll be less picky eaters in the future.  and i’m no expert or anything.  i don’t even have a kid or have access to one.  it just seems to make sense to me.  but then i also hear about parents who find out that their infants are allergic to stuff.  so maybe that takes care of my assumption.  but then again… does it?  let’s think about it.  do people with allergies not like the taste of the food they’re allergic to?  or do they just not like it because it causes them to die?  i prefer to think the former.  tony is my resident food allergist.  maybe he can shed some light on the situation.

Written by enoch

September 3, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Posted in social observation

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the e-propz! I should get my own column on this website or something — I write more here than in my own blog!

    I’ve trained myself for 20-some-odd years to detect the presence of nuts in my food like a mutant ability, but sometimes it doesn’t click. For example, I used to eat Chic-fil-A chicken sandwiches all the time in high school, but when I realized that they were causing me to break out, I stopped eating them. Now that I know that they are fried in peanut oil, I no longer have cravings for them.

    I also think that my disability is psychosomatic. If I’m eating something that looks suspicious and you tell me it has nuts in it (even if it doesn’t!), my throat starts to get uncomfortable and my breathing gets tyte.

    It sux not being able to eat Five Guys, Chic-fil-A, Popeye’s Louisiana Kitchen, Most Thai food, and most candy bars. I can never aspire to be a food critic, because my taste-spectrum is limited.

    I agree with your first point because I H8 the taste of nuts. If they came out with a cure for my allergy, I don’t think I’d be gorging myself with nuts like I gorge myself with gummy candies. But I also agree with your second point because I think I’ve conditioned myself to H8 the taste of nuts because it is harmful to me.

    I would also like to say that most people grow out of their food allergies, but people allergic to peanuts do not! I have a friend who said that as a kid he couldn’t eat shellfish, but then he seemed to be aiite when we were hitting up the Oyster bar. There are tests out there being done where mothers slip in a little bit of ground peanut dust into their allergy-infected kid’s food every day to “toughen” them up so that they may someday grow out of it. If someone did that to me I would say, “Please stop grinding nut powder into my food. I don’t like the taste of it. There is a reason why God made my body reject nuts so quit trying to change me!”

    :mrgreen:

    tonEX

    September 3, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  2. I think I’m a texture kind of guy. Nice textures get to me in food. When I was younger my parents used to coax me into eating foods by saying “it’s crunchy!” and I would always fall for it.

    Eric Yi

    September 3, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  3. not everyone who is allergic to different types of food hate it. sure, if it makes you deathly ill and could kill you’ll probably develop a hatred toward it. but i know some people who will still eat food they are allergic to b/c they like it and can put up with a little itchy and scratchiness for a while.

    good thing i’m not allergic to anything! except mango skins but nobody eats those. also you can’t be a food connoisseur if you’re vegetarian. vegetarians kind of make me mad.

    i like crunchy food too. water chesnuts and bamboo shoots and snap peas are great!

    Katee

    September 3, 2008 at 11:04 pm

  4. i also thought from your title you were blogging about coffee. i think taster’s choice is better than real coffee. haha.

    Katee

    September 3, 2008 at 11:06 pm

  5. i used to drink milk a lot. but then i grew old. and couldn’t do that anymore without paying the price.

    hg

    September 4, 2008 at 12:13 am

  6. before i found out i was allergic to pork, (yeah, i know. odd but true) i didn’t eat pork. mom never fed me and i don’t like the smell of it. first, i thought it was all in my head, since i never had it but i am indeed allergic to it. too bad, tho. i heard so many good things about it but i can’t devour. it won’t kill me, so i don’t completely avoid it but don’t ask me to go to bbq place. 🙂

    owie

    September 4, 2008 at 9:09 am

  7. suk says i’m a picky eater. i just have bland taste buds. i like my chips plain (no sour cream, no cheese flavors, no salsa), and i like things simple- not alot of spices/etc. I agree that giving kids a myriad of foods while they are young probably yields unpicky eaters. i’ll do that for my kids, but doesn’t mean i’ll be eating bell peppers anytime soon!

    crystal

    September 4, 2008 at 12:09 pm


Leave a Reply

