chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

time, why you punish me?

with 6 comments

to me, time is a funny concept:

time heals all wounds

time can also make wounds fester

time can destroy friendships

time can also build friendships

time can age a person

time can also show you how much a person hasn’t changed at all

time is on our side

time is also against us

such a weird concept, this time.  it organizes our lives.  we get some structure out of it – “when’s dinner?”  “7:00”  “ok, i’ll be late.”  it also causes stress – “i have to make this deadline or i’m fired.”  or it can excite us – “what time is it?!?!”  “GAMETIME!!!  HUH!!!”

i remember when i was younger, i always wore a watch.  i felt naked without it.  i had to know what time it was at any given point of the day.  i would wear my watch on my right wrist until someone corrected me and told i’m supposed to wear it on my left.  my band would get all sweaty and stinky but i’d still wear my watch all the same.  now, i can’t stand to put on a watch.  it seems bulky to me.  what was once my crutch is now an inconvenience and a non-necessity.  ironic how time changed my view of the watch.

i wish we could go back and just use the sun for telling time.  everyone would wake up when the sun rose, eat lunch when the sun is directly overhead, and sleep after the sun had gone down.  it just seems more… organic.  no rush, no hurries, no deadlines.

i think what fascinates me most is how people change (or don’t change) over time.  some people just surprise you, and some people you can rely on to be the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.  whether or not that’s a good thing is up to you.  in just a short period of time hairstyles change, weight changes, dress changes, relationships change.  but in a longer period of time personalities change, characters change, attitudes change.  even for the people that you’ve known for the longest time, they can still surprise you.  time is interesting.

if you didn’t know, the title is from the first line of the song “time” by hootie and the blowfish.

Written by enoch

September 13, 2008 at 9:43 am

Posted in social observation

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After I graduated in May, I stopped wearing a watch. Because I was like, y’know, I’ve been ruled by the clock and schedules, and now i don’t have to be like that anymore! 😀 I decided to not wear one until I got a job. I didn’t wear one during the planning of the wedding, honeymoon, nothin. haha. Suk would get mad because he’d ask me what time it was (cuz he never wears a watch) and I’d be all carefree and like “I dunno….” anyways. but i start a job on Monday, so its back to wearing a watch. [sigh]

    crys

    September 13, 2008 at 10:05 am

  2. The clock in my has been wrong since July 1, 2007. I never re-set it, and I never figured out exactly HOW off it is, so that I can figure out the time if I want to. I like it that way – I never have a reason to hurry if I have absolutely no idea what time it is.

    lil' j

    September 14, 2008 at 12:53 am

  3. it’s funny how God who is unchanging makes all things new O.o

    hg

    September 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  4. Funny, I was watching CMT and Darius Rucker’s music video came on! Watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa7ot4R_-Qo

    He has changed since the 90’s, but is still the same.

    tonEX

    September 14, 2008 at 5:24 pm

  5. i used to wear my watch all the time too. well, on my left. but once that thing called cellphone took over the world.. i no longer needed a watch.

    heej

    September 17, 2008 at 1:06 pm

  6. i am so naked without a watch… i watch it so i know when it’s time to leave work or how much longer i have in class.. it is essential to my sanity… otherwise i would really go nuts… what time is it? how much left? i need to know NOW!

    pegs

    September 25, 2008 at 9:56 pm


Leave a Reply

