chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

nonconfrontational

with 6 comments

poor girl, looks like she’s getting the finger-pointing of a lifetime.  that guy looks like a jerk with his huge sideburns and pointy-finger.  can’t he see that the girl has her hand on her head and the other on her hip?  geez, he’s really in her face.

i admit one of my biggest flaws is not being very assertive.  it has always been very difficult for me to make decisions and to speak up and to take action at times.  and a lot of that, i realize, has to do with how i fear people view me.  which is ironic because my inaction also makes me fear how people view me.

now, lately, i feel like i have been working on this.  and i think a lot of that has to do with attending a liberal seminary.  slowly i’m beginning to find my voice that i didn’t know i had.  i think one indication of this is that i’ve actually tackled some confrontation head-on.  i even surprised myself how readily i was willing to confront someone.

to specify more, i’ve always held resentment whenever i felt like people took advantage of me.  i’m pretty laid-back and always willing to help anyone who needs it, but sometimes it can definitely work against me when i get into situations that i end up disregarding my own needs and time.  but lately, i’ve been trying to speak up and say something before i harbor that resentment in until i blow up (which doesn’t sound healthy at all, does it?)

i feel like i’m taking steps (although small, slow steps) towards working on this flaw of mine, which is more than i can say i’ve done in the past.  so how do people work on their character flaws?

Written by enoch

October 2, 2008 at 11:03 pm

Posted in from my mind

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that’s RIGHT! Be a RISK TAKER! (but not like those guys that are jerks/risk getting their car keyed because they take up two parking spots!)

    😈

    tonEX

    October 2, 2008 at 11:14 pm

  2. so.. in response to this, did anything happen earlier today?

    heej

    October 3, 2008 at 12:24 am

  3. For every finger someone points at you, they have 3 fingers pointing back at them. 🙂

    It’s not good to hold thing inside. One day you might snap on somebody. Family or friend. It’s good to let it out, but there’s a difference between good confrontation and bad confrontation I think. Kind of like destructive criticism vs constructive criticism. One builds the other destroys.

    Blog Reader

    October 3, 2008 at 12:36 am

  4. i look for a girl who complements me. harharharh.

    hg

    October 3, 2008 at 1:41 am

  5. Character flaws? What character flaws?
    Keke, just kidding.

    I know exactly how you feel as I’ve been going through the same thing. But I think that’s the art of being humble. Not being noticed for your actions really sucks, but you know there’s always Him that’s watching you and is pleased. At the same time, it’s good to speak up if it means you’re defending your beliefs or if it’s the good thing to do at the time.

    By sharing this with everyone you’ve gone a step further working on your character “flaw.” I think talking to your friends about it will always help. Maybe they can “test” you and see how you respond. lol, that might be detrimental. Dealing with this, I think the best you can do is just DO IT. You know? Hey, do it just do it. lol, sorry couldn’t help myself. I think the more and more you feel comfortable about stepping up the more easier it will be being comfortable with yourself.

    David

    October 3, 2008 at 11:40 am

  6. who this new enoch is sexay!!

    dtongkas

    October 6, 2008 at 12:12 am


Leave a Reply

