chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

snap back to reality

with 6 comments

i feel like i’ve been taken on a roller coaster this past week.  emotional highs, lows, and everything in between.  last night i came back early from a wedding of two friends that i had the privilege of singing their first dance song for.  i came back early cause i was pretty tired from the day’s activities so it felt good to just get out of my wedding clothes and spend the evening at home.  i felt like there was a lot on my mind cause i just wanted to get away and spend some time thinking.

i ended up spending the evening outside on my balcony.  i journaled a bit and then i went through old files and letters that were written in pretty important times of my life.  it was good to hear my voice from the past.  somehow it always seems to be a little wiser than my voice in the present.  and i like to think it’s my way of giving advice to myself in the future as well.

sometimes it very sobering to listen to your past voice.  sometimes you realize just how far you’ve come from or how much you’ve just stayed the same.  it’s like a reality check, a half-time pep-talk and afterwards you’re ready to finish up the second half.  only instead of changing up your defensive strategy, you’re changing up your life: your relationships, your character, your behavior, which i’m sure you’d all agree is much harder to do than changing to a zone defense.

do you ever have those voices-of-truth/wisdom speaking into your life that give you a reality check?

Written by enoch

October 12, 2008 at 11:52 pm

Posted in from my mind

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “snap back to reality…ooops there goes gravity.”

    not really and that’s why I need other brothers to speak truth to my life.

    dtongkas

    October 13, 2008 at 12:02 am

  2. whenever i read what i wrote a while ago, i always think about how foolish i was. but then i remember how foolish i am currently. most of the insights i get are from other people.

    hg

    October 13, 2008 at 12:06 am

  3. hmm. definitely have been hearing lots of voices from the past this week. its made me feel surer of my present/present choices, and the future.

    mrs. s

    October 13, 2008 at 12:42 am

  4. Whenver I look at my past writing..
    I ask myself, “what happened to you?”
    haha. Sometimes, I think I was more wise when I was younger. Which seems pretty foolish to say, but to be honest, largely I believe it’s true. Perhaps because I had more time to think, write, and read a lot. But at the same time, like you said you realize how far you’ve come. I wrote this quote a while back when I was in high school, “Working at the future now, and planning to work on the present later is conspicuously the very paradox of reality.” Even up until now, I read this to myself so I don’t fall into this “reality” that so many people are trapped in right now. I agree with you entirely, it’s good hearing your voice from the past, “and i like to think it’s my way of giving advice to myself in the future as well.” (Chang 1)

    dk

    October 13, 2008 at 1:34 am

  5. Oh man, I came across a letter I wrote to myself couple years ago and man, this guy was wise! It was crazy how spot on this guy was on encouragement as well as advices. We should write letters to ourselves and open it year from now.

    Brian

    October 13, 2008 at 11:27 am

  6. i like my present me 99.9% than my past me^__^

    im very greatful for divine bros and sisters i can talk to and lend me their bunny ears.one day im gonna treat them all to IHOP!^__^

    Anonymous

    October 13, 2008 at 4:32 pm


Leave a Reply

