chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

can anybody out there hear me?

with 8 comments

…cause i can’t seem to hear myself – justin timberlake

growing up in my family, i was ignored a lot.  i guess it comes with being the youngest and being bratty and obnoxious.  i would say something, or suggest an idea, and in response i would only find blank stares and continued conversation.  normally, i wouldn’t mind that much, but the thing is 5 seconds later, my dad or sister would suggest the same thing and everyone would agree that it was the best idea.  in the meanwhile i would sit there dumbfounded, wondering if maybe i had died and people can’t hear me because i’d been a ghost this whole time.

and it’s not just this.  you know those motion sensored paper-towel/soap/water dispensers and faucets in the bathrooms?  i put my hand in front of the sensor and… nothing.  there have been so many times i just walked out with undried hands, unsoaped hands, or even (gasp!) unwashed hands.  does anyone else have this problem?  i feel like i’m the only one.  further evidence that i am a ghost and don’t really exist.

so back to being ignored.  i don’t think i would’ve minded if it stopped in my childhood.  but the thing is, i’m still ignored even today.  in one of my classes, they would asking who wanted to volunteer to pray and i said i would.  and then they said, “no one?  ok.”  i was like, uhhh… can no one hear me?  and yes, i did speak up.  i raised my hand and everything.  and when i meet with my accountability group for morning prayer meetings, whenever i volunteer to pray someone else will start praying.  now it’s a joke with everyone.  everytime i say i’ll pray, they’ll just start praying to spite me.  but i can’t tell that they’re kidding so i’ll just let them pray until they start laughing and i end up being very confused.

can anyone hear me?!?!  i’m not a ghost am i?

Written by enoch

October 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Posted in from my mind

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What blood type are you?
    I’m a type A+ with a type B personality and that equals wuss.

    Like I’ve said about a dozen times, I’m really glad that you don’t ignore me because I’m soft-spoken. Whenever I do speak loudly, people ask me why I’m talking funny — That’s not me talking funny, it’s them finally paying attention to what I have to say!

    :mrgreen:

    tonEX

    October 22, 2008 at 5:05 pm

  2. Hi! thanks for a little pick-me-up during my long work day. This is quite entertaining.
    I didn’t know this was YOUR blog. Ive seen your status update on fb from time to time but i always assumed it was some article (wordpress..?), and so i stayed away. =P

    Hey, that sensor thing? it’s probably because you are moving your hand about too fast. Slow down, my friend. No one can see/hear you if you are moving/taking at supersonic speed.

    Susie

    October 22, 2008 at 5:08 pm

  3. hmm i get that a lot too. but i think for people like us God hears us even more than others.

    hg

    October 22, 2008 at 5:11 pm

  4. musicobiwon bein ignored..i cant imagine coz u have like the totally coolest friends eber!^__^

    i try 5 6 7 sensors before water water comes out..n then wipe it off 1 of my boossies scarf..im just borrowin it…^__^..or touch peoples shoulder coz they dry..^__^

    lol2tonex coz he is totally not softspoken!^__^

    Anonymous

    October 22, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  5. no it’s ok….I’ll pray!

    haha

    if you a ghost, you are a sexy ghost-uh!

    maybe it’s your mutant ability, try going through walls!

    dtongkas

    October 23, 2008 at 8:54 am

  6. haha. that was kinda funny but sad.
    maybe you just need to speak with more authority in your voice.

    like “I’LL pray”. not just “I’ll pray”.
    just be louder. and if they keep ignoring you, be obnoxiously loud.

    kt

    October 23, 2008 at 12:59 pm

  7. oh man! we have a sink in the changing area at work that has the motion sensor. and it NEVER works for me, either!

    crys

    October 23, 2008 at 9:21 pm

  8. you are not a ghost…but it has been a while since i’ve seen you…i hope that all is well over at Columbia…i miss you and your guitar playing, greek speakin’ self!

    jmcbray

    October 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm


Leave a Reply

