chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

election day

with 4 comments

georgiavoteri actually had a really good election day.  here’s how it went:

i woke up early to get to the polling place when it opened at 7.  i was pretty sleepy, but i was expecting to be able to come back to my apartment after i voted to get ready for class at 8:30, but i got ready to go straight to class anyways.  good thing i did cause i ended up staying in line for about 2 and a half hours.  i brought a book with me and an ipod full of songs to get me through the wait.  it was actually pretty fun.  i really like being in situations where you’re forced to be with people you don’t know.  i was that kid in elementary school that loved assigned seating.  i liked being around people i would not have ordinarily hung out with.  i like getting into conversations with random people.  it’s very fun for me.

so as i chatted some with some of the people around me, i was amazed by the diversity in the line.  i guess that’s what i get for living in a very minority-heavy part of town.  i love it when there’s such a diverse group of people in one place.  i feel like this is how the world should be.  it reminds me of those movies where there’s a hostage situation and there’s people from all different backgrounds that have to bond together through tough times.  i always liked those kinds of movies.

so during these 2.5 hours, i actually had fun waiting in line.  i got a lot of my book read that i was really behind on.  the bad part is (maybe it’s good?) i had to skip my first class cause i waited in line for so long.  so fast forward to lunch.  me and a friend from school went to the subway we usually go to for lunch.  we were piling back into my car when a homeless guy came and asked us for food.  we commented later how much we preferred when homeless people ask us for food instead of money.  it so happened that i got a footlong that day when i usually get a six-inch, so i was more than glad to share my sandwich with him.  we introduced ourselves (his name was dwayne) and had to go back to class cause we only get a 30 minute window between classes.  i wish we could’ve ate with him, but we didnt’ have time.  i did find it really interesting how things worked out though.  my friend got a salad so he couldn’t really share his food, but it just so happened that i ordered extra food (i was actually pretty hungry, but was very glad to offer him half my sandwich) when i usually order half as much.

i love interactions with strangers.  i guess it depends on the stranger, but for the most part, i feel pretty comfortable with strangers.  i guess because there’s no commitment.  most likely, you’ll never see that person again so the comfort level is pretty high.  if you don’t want to talk to them anymore, you don’t have to talk to them anymore cause you don’t really know each others’ name.

fast forward to the end of school when i had a really good conversation with my mom and top that all off in the evening where i had a great dinner and great company to enjoy it with.  what a great day =)

Written by enoch

November 5, 2008 at 1:06 am

Posted in from my mind

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “i love it when there’s such a diverse group of people in one place. i feel like this is how the world should be. it reminds me of those movies where there’s a hostage situation and there’s people from all different backgrounds that have to bond together through tough times.”

    sounds like you’ll be right at home up in heaven, where we’ll be captured by His love. zing! 😉

    hyungulee

    November 5, 2008 at 3:58 am

  2. I used to be not shy and love engaging strangers…but the older i get I feel like I’m losing that ability.

    dtongkas

    November 5, 2008 at 8:20 pm

  3. I don’t feel so comfortable with strangers, and rather be left alone to do my own thing, although I found that I can pretend to be comfortable and have decent conversations with strangers if I choose to…

    Does that mean I’m not gonna feel right at home up in heaven???? j/k

    Anonymous

    November 6, 2008 at 12:15 am

  4. […] guess it goes back to my post on election day where i just love to see diversity and people of different races and cultures interacting as if […]


Leave a Reply

