chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

that’s sick!!

with 8 comments

yogi-teahow do you cope with sickness?  i usually just take it and wait it out.  as a lot of my friends have become sick recently, i started to feel a little sick myself.  i think the worst part about being sick for me is that my voice is one of the first things to go.  being a singer, this is one of the worst things that can happen to me.  i can’t hit my notes, and i have no control over my voice.  all that plegm is not good for singing.

it’s weird though cause i get sick every year.  sometimes multiple times in a year.  and yet, i still haven’t figured out a way to get over it quickly.  i’ve tried everything – tea, medicines, vitamin c, sweating it out, sleep.  nothing helps to preserve my voice at least.  i heard a hot bath helps.  i might try that if this one gets worse. although i did get some tea today that i’m looking forward to drinking =)

so how do you recover from a cold/flu?  is there a fast way?  i refuse to take a flu shot.  i like to live dangerously.  i find not taking a flu shot to be a gamble.  see, there’s a chance that i might not get sick in a year so why would i needlessly take a shot when i might not get sick?  of course, some would see this as very silly logic, but this way, i don’t have to get a shot every year.  unfortunately, i still get sick every year.  and every year i tell myself i’m not going to get sick this year…  we’ll see how this winter goes.

Written by enoch

November 12, 2008 at 12:52 am

Posted in from my mind

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oooh yogi tea~!!
    i heard that people still get sick even after they get a flu shot. since flu’s different every year, the shot doesn’t prevent 100% from getting a flu. it just cuts the suffering phase down to half-ish.
    so go be dangerous! hahahaha

    heej

    November 12, 2008 at 10:46 am

  2. dont forget strawberri jello,smoothies,,8L of water,nyquilcoughing(this med is the quickest med for dry throat cough from flu i think ) and tons of boiling baths;watermelon or bleuberry smell

    watching spongebob-goodwillhunting,chickensoup,2 chocochip cookies and teddybear^_^

    Anonymous

    November 12, 2008 at 10:53 am

  3. we can bath together 😉

    dtongkas

    November 12, 2008 at 11:26 am

  4. I got my flu shot last week for FREE! Better safe than sorry! (and you already know that I’m no stranger to danger either!)

    I find it helpful to look at GOOGLE’S FLU TRENDS to find out if there is something going around.

    Last year, when I got sick with the flu and couldn’t get out of bed, my friends took care of me by bringing me juice, chicken soup, and taking care of things around the house, and it was much appreciated. I suggest you do the same instead of just toughing it out ALONE! Instead of bathing with dtonkas, ask him to fluff your pillow and do your portion of the chores when you’re sick. It will make both of you feel mmm mmm good. :mrgreen:

    tonEX

    November 12, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  5. what’s wrong w/ dtongkas?

    anyway, thought it’s no good to get the shot after getting sick. i don’t think it helps. anyway, i don’t get the shots either. last time i did, i was in bed for two weeks, unable to function.

    sleep and yoo jja cha is the way to go.

    owie

    November 12, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  6. steam it out!!! kind of like smoking a rabbit out of the hole

    dooly012

    November 12, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  7. airborne. it really works. you just gotta follow the directions. you have to drink it like 3 times a day. but seriously, i have avoided getting sick so many times especially during midterms/finals.

    kt

    November 13, 2008 at 1:04 am

  8. If you have what I have (a cough with sometimes stuffy nose and irritated throat in the mornings that progress towards the lungs during the day, you’re not “sick tired” but it feels better to just lay in bed), then the thing that’s helped me the most is keeping my throat warm (like scarves and stuff) and drinking hot tea with honey or raw sugar, hot soups, and plenty of water and/or juice. Try not to eat/drink anything cold or milky of course. As far as over the counter drugs, I take a multi-symptom cold medication every 4 hours (I buy generic cuz I’m a cheap student) and Mucinex 600mg every 12 hours (couldn’t find generic guafenesin). If I feel extra achy, I’ll add in a strong dose of ibuprofen until I’m not achy anymore. I take Ricola throat drops because I don’t like the way other cough drops taste. If you have access to eucalyptus or peppermint scented oils, I use that and it soothes my throat. Haha, hope that helps! Don’t get sick!!

    Helen

    November 13, 2008 at 12:48 pm


Leave a Reply

