chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

i forget

with 8 comments

forget1i’m really bad at remembering things sometimes.  …ok, most of the time.  i’m pretty sure i’d forget my own name if it wasn’t written on my underwear.  it’s not so bad, i usually remember what it is i forgot before it’s too late, it’s just a little inconvenient.  or if i do forget, i usually get a friendly reminder that i forgot my jacket, keys, etc. =)

so how can i remember to not forget stuff?  here’s what i came up with:

massive amounts of post-it notes – i’m talking eeeeeeverywhere.  as long as it’s a dry surfacee, there’s a post-it note or two on it.  pick this up, buy this, don’t forget this, etc.  it does get a little cluttered though.

do things as you remember them – i have a huge problem doing this.  i’ll remember something, think that i can remember it for another hour and go and do something else in the meantime, and then an hour later, it’s gone.  i find that when i actually do things as i think of them, things go a lot smoother.

just buy a bunch of “extra” stuff – extra everything: extra set of keys, extra phone, extra jackets.  that way, it won’t matter so much when you lose something.  this is more of an extreme case and requires pretty much double the money that you’ve normally budgeted, but hey, you don’t really have to worry about losing stuff anymore.

write on your hand – i know these people who write everything on their hands so that at the end of the day, their hand looks like one big tattoo.  personally, i can’t do this because my hands sweat so much.  when i did do it, i’d just be left with a huge ink smudge on my hand and possibly on my face from rubbing my eye or something.  i think the fact that i had something on my hand made me extra nervous not to sweat, which made me sweat even more…

how do you remember to not forget?

Written by enoch

November 14, 2008 at 11:09 am

Posted in social observation

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tip: use ball point pens. they won’t smudge.

    hm, i use post-its at work and at home.
    hm, i try to do things as i remember them most of the time (keyword:try).
    hm, i don’t buy extra stuff.
    hm, i write on back of my hand when i’m not at work or home. with a ballpoint pen of course. i try to make it look like a tattoo so that it’s not plain “milk” or “laundry”.

    heej

    November 14, 2008 at 11:27 am

  2. or just make your life less complicated..
    oh wait.. guess that’s not really an option. doh!

    owie

    November 14, 2008 at 2:04 pm

  3. my phone fell out of my pocket while watching a movie today… i couldn’t find it in the dark so i decided to get it after the movie ended… i was scared i might forget so i needed some kind of random reminder that would make me remember (this method doesn’t always work, because i dont remember what the reminder was actually for)…
    so i took off my shoes and put my keys in there… so i’d have to step on them when i try to exit the theater….. it worked. i didnt leave my phone behind. hehe~

    kebule

    November 15, 2008 at 3:21 am

  4. I always forget things, so I have a checklist in the mornin and leave things where ill remeber them in the mornin, like keys.

    It must be human nature!

    tim3

    November 15, 2008 at 3:54 am

  5. sing them those words so u wont forget!…or 2 make it fun rap ur checklist in syncho rythmmm!

    Anonymous

    November 15, 2008 at 9:26 am

  6. i have a planner/schedule which contains the contents of my entire life in it…. so if i happen to lose it, i melt. but that usually only happens once a year : )

    lilian

    November 15, 2008 at 11:58 am

  7. I write on my bathroom mirror with a dry erase marker. Sometimes it gets a little bit overwhelming but it works because I stare at the bathroom mirror everyday while brushing my teeth in the morning. At night, while I brush my teeth, I reorganize my list on the mirror. Post-it notes help too. So does a planner… you should see my planner, lol. Oh, and I have an online calendar that rules my life… sad.

    Helen

    November 17, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  8. […] a lot happened in 2008.  and i’m sure i missed a lot things that happened.  i was going through old xanga and wordpress entries and whatever i could remember and we all know how awesome my memory is… […]


Leave a Reply

