chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

is that what i sound like?

with 8 comments

mici don’t think i’ll ever feel comfortable hearing my own voice recorded.  there’s just something about hearing your own voice and realizing every imperfection and every missed note that just isn’t cool.  with that being said, i’d like to be a recording artist.  hahaha.  does that make any sense?  yeah, no, it didn’t.

in my mind, i sound a lot clearer than i do in real life.  to me, i’m very articulate, my voice is soothing, and all my words are enunciated.  but when i hear myself recorded, all my words kinda get mushed together and i sound all mumbly and not very soothing at all.  i guess what i have to realize is that people hear me a lot more than i hear myself and they’re used to it so i should just take it as normal.

does anyone like to hear their own voice?  maybe it’s just an issue of training yourself.  like these professional recording artists and such, i bet they just had to force themselves to listen to their own voice until they got used to how awesome it sounded.  maybe that’s what i need to do.  i’m slowly getting used to being comfortable with my own voice.  and i know that last statement just contradicted what i said in my first sentence, but has any of this post made sense thus far?

Written by enoch

November 17, 2008 at 11:28 pm

Posted in from my mind

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have this thing where I think I sound good when I sing but I listen to myself and find a ton of things wrong. I actually found that I sound better when I first record than when I re-record… and it also took me awhile to not cringe when I heard my own voice, lol. But I don’t think you have anything to worry about–you have a wonderful voice.

    Helen

    November 17, 2008 at 11:41 pm

  2. i have a sexy voice. it comes out around night time, especially when im extremely tired.
    some describe it as froggy, but i’d like to think it’s extra sexy.

    j/k. i sound weird on recordings. hehe

    BK

    November 18, 2008 at 12:25 am

  3. think we r our own worst critics coz we wanna have it just so right n musicians here notes that other people cant here . like totally musicobiwon make a recordin label!^__^

    Anonymous

    November 18, 2008 at 8:51 am

  4. listening to your own recorded-voice is a bit better than WATCHING yourself…especially with buncha other people…woo..that was a nightmare.. bleh.. :]
    but yeah, you do have a wonderful voice!

    anonymous

    November 18, 2008 at 3:53 pm

  5. yea i always thought it was weird to hear my own voice! you have a nice voice enoch! btw, i made porkchops with zucchini the other night for supper : )

    danahbeth

    November 18, 2008 at 6:58 pm

  6. Dude, I hate listening to my own voice record. To me, I sound a bit baritone and articulated, but then in recording I sound like a FOB and sound like someone put up too much treble. I’m trying to get used to it.

    I think the recording artist thing made sense…

    Daniel S

    November 18, 2008 at 8:31 pm

  7. oy~ got a lot of catching up to do. dunno why i didn’t keep up w/ your posts this whole week. anyhoo, i do not like my voice at all. it’s too deep and i heard myself talking in a baby voice once, yeah… not cute at all. *shudder*

    owie

    November 20, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  8. yeah i ‘hear’ you. hahaha
    but man, i have the same problem. when i talk i think i’m all smooth and sexy, but when i hear my recording it’s all slurred and sloppy. i guess i have to try extra hard to enunciate everything and get on that pitch.

    hg

    November 21, 2008 at 12:51 am


Leave a Reply

