chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

my biggest fear

with 9 comments

toiletone of my biggest fears is… brace yourself… dropping something in the toilet.  i’ve heard so many stories of friends who dropped things (phones, wallets, keys, etc.) in the toilet and i’m so determined to not ever let that happen to me.

the thing is, i have this mutant ability.  sometimes, when i visualize something happening, whether i want it to happen or not, it’ll happen.  i haven’t perfected this mutant ability or anything (i’m working on it).  but on more than one occassion, i think about something happening, and it happens.  and it’s not like it’s just something i want to happen, but i actualy visualize something happening in my mind only to find that the exact same occurance is happening in real life.  sometimes it’s something i really don’t want to happen.  for example (and i’m not sure if this really happened or not):

one time, i was carrying a bunch of things in my hands, my phone being one of them, and it ended up being too much for me to carry and in my mind i’m thinking, “what if my phone fell?  man, that’d suck.  remember that one time you dropped your phone in the middle of the street and it broke apart into like 5 different pieces and you had to grab them all when cars were coming at you?”  and somewhere in the middle of this mental monologue, i see my phone slip out of my hands and break into 5 different pieces.

so everytime i have my phone in my hand when i enter the bathroom, or put my ipod in my loose jacket pocket when i enter the stall, i visualize my phone or my ipod falling out of my hands or pocket, bouncing off the rim of the toilet a couple times and then falling in.  and knowing my mutant ability, i try to get rid of this image as quick as i can before it ends up happening as is the problem with these kinds of mutant abilities.  so far, i’m doing pretty well with not dropping anything in the toilet.  i hope the streak continues.

what’s your biggest irrational fear?

Written by enoch

November 20, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Posted in from my mind

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that sounds like a premise for a scary movie. except instead of visualizing dropping your phone, it’d be visualizing dying. 😛

    my somewhat irrational fear is sleeping with my contacts on, and waking up to find that i’m blind O.o

    i like wearing glasses.

    hg

    November 21, 2008 at 12:48 am

  2. euni asked me this for a while. she thought my irrational fear was having a thick neck since i couldn’t think of one right away. but i came to a legit conclusion that my irrational fear is getting into a car accident. it’s kinda funny since i like driving and yet i have these images of me getting into different styles/kinds of accidents.. o_O

    heej

    November 21, 2008 at 9:20 am

  3. I dropped my chopsticks in the toilet once.

    Daniel S

    November 21, 2008 at 10:01 am

  4. Whenever I use the urinal, I have this fear that if I look down my glasses will fall off my face and fall right in. To prevent this from happening, when going I look as high up as possible without looking awkward (or at least I don’t think I look awkward).

    Eric

    November 21, 2008 at 10:53 am

  5. awesoomeness…i usually have dreams couple months early before it comes true n happens;good n bad..like the 9/11 before it happened i shook like crazy n knew something so huge was gonna happen where nobody new was gonna happen…so weird…

    Anonymous

    November 21, 2008 at 10:55 am

  6. @ Daniel S – uhh… what were you doing with chopsticks in the toilet? were you eating in the bathroom?!?!

    @ Eric – hahaha!! do people ever look up at what you’re looking at because they think there’s something there? that’d be pretty funny. two people at the urinal looking at nothing on the wall or ceiling!

    enoch

    November 21, 2008 at 11:07 am

  7. i used to have an irrational fear of the car door opening while i was crammed up against it and falling out of the car on a speeding highway. i think i’m over that fear now that i’m the driver most of the time.

    i guess i have an irrational fear of germs crawling up my butt when using the toilet. hence the laying of the toilet paper on the seat in public restrooms.

    lilian

    November 21, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  8. when i was little,
    my house was very old.
    and to get from the living room to the “play room” we had to go through a bathroom.

    i was running through
    and i dropped my bible. in the toilet
    egads.
    i know.

    miso

    November 22, 2008 at 11:56 am

  9. it’s okay when you drop stuff in the toilet before you use it… but what if you dropped something in the toilet AFTER? better hope its not after no. 2

    lol…. yeah. that would be a fear of mine cuz i know what you mean about how you imagine stuff happening but you dont want it to happen, yet it happens anyways so you try to get it out of your mind lol

    Helen

    November 22, 2008 at 3:08 pm


Leave a Reply

