chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

donde esta la biblioteca?

with 5 comments

book-nerdi didn’t take much spanish, but that’s one word that i will always remember – library.  isn’t it weird?  it seems like library attendance has dropped ever since the rise of the coffee shop craze.  i wonder if spanish classes at school will stop teaching the word “biblioteca”, or at least phase it out in favor of “cafe”.  but anyways, i digress.

day one of being at home has been… uh… not fun, but not boring either.  is there a word for that?  neutral i guess?  as i write this, i’m chilling in morrison regional public library where i used to spend countless hours as a middle and high schooler studying and reading.  it’s funny how a physical location can turn you into another person.  in this case, the library turned me into my old middle school self.  just like being at my parents’ home makes me feel like a kid again.

i came into the library expecting it to be a totally different place.  it has been about maybe 8 or 9 years since i last came here after all and there has been a lot of technological improvements during that time.  but i was amazed to find that besides a couple desks moved around, wifi access, and more computers in the lab, nothing really has changed.  i was kind of excited, thinking that maybe a change and upgrade in the library would be symbolic of my own personal growth and maturity, but nope.  i came in those doors reminded of my immature ways as a middle schooler and how time hasn’t changed much.

i remember being dropped off at the library by my dad.  for some reason my parents really wanted me to read a lot.  they were always telling to me to read this or that, forcing me to go to the library when i didn’t want to, dropping me off and leaving me at the library for hours until they found it to be enough time for me to read and absorb copious amounts of knowledge.  why did they want me to read so much?  obviously it kind of had the negative effect.  i actually don’t like reading now.  i didn’t really like it ever.  i think forcing me to physically be around books a lot just made it worse.  me and books don’t really get along.  if books were a person, i’d have beat him up and took his lunch money long ago.  and yes, i’m not talking back in elementary school, i’m talking if books were a grown man, i’d beat him up and make him pay for my lunch.  what if books were a big strong man you say?  well, it’s books.  it’d probably come to life as some kind of nerd-looking guy anyone’s grandmother could beat up.  that’s right.  i called books a nerd.  take that books.

Written by enoch

November 25, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Posted in from my mind

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh no, not again.. Didn’t your teacher tell you not to fight with your books? Time out Enoch, go to your corner!

    Hehehe =P. From exit 102 =)

    heej

    November 26, 2008 at 12:08 am

  2. that’s funny hehehehe ^_^

    Anonymous

    November 26, 2008 at 12:11 am

  3. I LOVE BOOKS! I WISH I COULD JUST READ AND READ EVERYDAY!

    danahbeth

    November 26, 2008 at 12:55 am

  4. I LOVE BOOKS! I WISH I COULD JUST READ AND READ EVERYDAY!

    danahbeth

    November 26, 2008 at 12:56 am

  5. Dr.Seuss books rawesome!!!^__^ n spongebob n comicbooks!^__^

    Anonymous

    November 26, 2008 at 6:11 pm


Leave a Reply

