chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

something’s not right

with 8 comments

ocdthere are some events that trigger this ocd side of me.  i don’t know what it is, it’s like an itch i can’t scratch that just bothers me until something is done about it, and most of the time, nothing can be done about it.  what am i talking about?  well, here’s some things that just get to me:

mixed cases – when people use some lowercase and uppercase letters when they write on the black or marker board.  i’m not talking about the way some girls write like tHis Or sTufF LikE thAt, i actually don’t mind that.  i admire people that can write like that in their notebooks.  i knew some girls in high school that would write faster than i could while writing in that kind of script.  i’m talking about professors who will write in all caps and then throw in a lowercase ‘n’ or something.  normally male professors.  i would think it’d be ok if all their n’s were lowercase, you know, maybe they just don’t like capital N’s.  but nope, 3 words down the sentence, there’s a capital ‘N’ staring me in the face, mocking me with its pointy-ness.  i just want to go up there and turn it into a lowercase ‘n’ just so that all the n’s are consistent.

on the 4 – songs with drum beats where the snare or hi-hat are only hit on the 4 beat.  maybe you don’t know what i’m talking about, allow me to explain.  sometimes in a song, you have those weird beats.  usually the snare or hi-hat go on 2 and 4 or sometimes 1 and 3, but every once in a while, there will come a song where the snare or hi-hat are only played on the 4th beat in the measure.  it makes me want to just go in and add the 2nd beat with my own beat box.

change lanes!! – when i’m riding with someone who is in the passing lane and cars start lining up behind them cause they won’t change to the right lane.  i just want to grab the wheel and yank it to the right so that other cars can pass.  i hate it when cars don’t get out the way when i’m trying to pass when they could so move to the right lane, but for some reason, choose not to.  so when i’m with someone who does that, it just drives me crazy (no pun intended).  sometimes i’ll just tell them that they should change lanes.  it gets a little awkward when they’re like, “why?” or, “are you telling me how i should drive?”

leaving things open – i get really ocd when i see that doors or jars or cabinets or anything really, is left open.  i don’t know what it is, maybe i just like things to look all neat and organized, or maybe i’m a safety fanatic and think someone (usually me) will run into an open cabinet door and poke an eye out.  or maybe yet, i just don’t like stale food so when people leave food containers open, i have to close them.  personally, i think it’s all of the above.  close your doors/food containers/cabinets/drawers people.

what drives you crazy?

Written by enoch

December 3, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Posted in from my mind

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. when people do not use the correct spelling or words… it bugs me. for example, when they don’t know which they’re/their/they’re they are using… or if they don’t spell other words that shouldn’t be inncorrectly spelled. or if i make typos in my writing, i will backspace all the way back to my mistake just to fix the spelling even if i have to delete almost the entire sentence… if i don’t know how to spell a word, i’ll try to revise my sentence so i can use a word that i do know how to spell… lol

    Helen

    December 3, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  2. ugh, i meant they’re/their/there
    see? i had to go back and correct my mistakes or it will drive me insane. hahaha

    Helen

    December 3, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  3. ::sigh:: why am i surrounded by OCDs…
    jusst playing =P due to my sisters’ overflowing OCDness, i bet i’m pretty ocd too. so like, whenever i meet up with them, i become little more ocd when i come back. i.e. this thanksgiving.

    yeah, i don’t like stale food either. i’m okay with people leaving their food/chips open, but i dislike it when they leave MY food/chips open and watch it go stale.
    i agree on the changing lanes too.
    ahh crap.. now i have so many i can think of!!!!

    heej

    December 4, 2008 at 10:25 am

  4. i totally agree w/ you about the mixed cases. being a calligrapher and lover of the written word, i cannot, absolutely cannot, stand ppl who write like that. i can’t wait to be a teacher so i can write legibly and in consistent caps for my children!

    lilian

    December 4, 2008 at 10:45 am

  5. when selfish people only pick out the good part of a dish or only one color in a bag of candy. this is when it’s being shared, i don’t care what they do if they have the whole bag to themselves. but come on people!! be a little more considerate.

    if people were just more considerate and thought of the greater good, we wouldn’t end up with slow cars driving in the fast lane and such.

    i think next time you are in a passenger seat and the driver is doing that you should totally call him out and tell him what a selfish person he is. and if he says, “are you telling me how to drive?” you should totally say, “yeah i am, cuz you SUCK!”

    kt

    December 4, 2008 at 11:22 am

  6. btw, thought you might like this. you are john mayer fan right?

    kinda old but i just found this.

    maybe it’ll give you some more inspirations for your video posts! 🙂

    kt

    December 4, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  7. I can’t sleep with my door open, and I hate leaving my door open so I always close it.

    Oh, and it bothers me when people don’t capitalize, use punctuation, and use leet, when they type online… like YOU!!!

    Daniel S

    December 4, 2008 at 8:30 pm

  8. oh don’t get me started on this.. my list is long, so i shouldn’t start. oh btw, that image – yes, bothers me. i agree w/ kt, you should tell the person that they don’t know how to drive, but i hope you don’t say that to me. although, i’ve offended many w/ my driving abilities. 🙂

    owie

    December 5, 2008 at 5:55 pm


Leave a Reply

