chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

are you watching?

with 7 comments

mariokartso i have this theory that everyone is very gifted in some area.  but not only that, but i think that no matter how shy or introverted a person is, there is something that he or she can do well with an audience watching.  i mean, there’s gotta be something that every person does well right?  but i’m taking it to the next level.  there’s gotta be something that each person can do well with an audience.

for me, i hate it when people watch me do stuff.  i could be crossing the street or something very inconsequencial like that and just freak out whenever people watch me do it.  i get all self-conscious and i wonder what i look like as i’m crossing the street.  am i walking fast?  am i swinging my arms too quickly?  am i even swinging my arms at all?  did i just step in some gum?  why is that person looking at me?  is there anything i can trip over?  is my fly open?  how can i make myself walk any cooler?  do i have a booger in my nose?  where am i going again?  did i remember to turn off the heater at home?  did i remember to lock the door?  where are my keys?  where the freak are my keys?!?! you know, the usual thoughts.

i think i have a couple things that i do well with an audience watching:

music – i think this might be a given.  i feel very comfortable performing in front of people.  i don’t worry about what i look like or where the freak my keys are.  i don’t choke like i do when i’m playing sports.  i take my time and i do my best when people are watching.

mariokart – i don’t care who’s watching.  i could be playing in front of the best mariokart player ever, i’m still gonna play well (just maybe not as well as that guy, who, i’m sure is from japan).  i totally own that game and i don’t care who’s watching.  (fyi, i’m best at mariokart on snes).

board or group games – one of my skills (i’d say) is that i’m abnormally good at board games.  where does this get me in life?  nowhere.  but still, whenever these games come up, i excel.  and of course people are watching.  it’s not like i practice rolling the dice by myself alone in the closet on a saturday evening with stuffed animals representing my opponents while eating freshly baked cookies listening to jack johnson in my footy-pajamas or anything.  psh… no, not me…  =/

so what are you good at while people are watching?

Written by enoch

December 12, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Posted in from my mind

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lets play monopoly!

    dtongkas

    December 12, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  2. hg

    December 12, 2008 at 6:01 pm

  3. you have uncovered a psychological concept called social facilitation. if you are an expert or performing a simple task, having other people around will arouse you to perform better. and then the opposite effect for tasks which are complex or you’re not so good at.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_facilitation

    you seemed really interested in social psychology topics. 🙂

    kt

    December 13, 2008 at 1:35 am

  4. oh yeah, did you read about scientists being able to take your dreams and project a visual image?

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/japan/3705790/Scientists-develop-software-that-can-map-dreams.html

    kt

    December 13, 2008 at 1:40 am

  5. i loooove social psychology and that dream projection thing sounds wicked awesome!

    awesome mariokart song! all these ones with links on them come back to me as “do you want to approve this comment?” thinking that they’re spam. but yeah, i approve them =)

    enoch

    December 13, 2008 at 3:21 am

  6. piano n jokies…and im really good at LOL!:))

    Anonymous

    December 13, 2008 at 11:36 am

  7. was that “swinging my arms at all” directed at me?!
    grrrr….

    David Park

    December 16, 2008 at 10:22 pm


Leave a Reply

