chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

they will see us waving

with 6 comments

skywalk…from such great heights

if there’s one thing i’m afraid of, it’s heights.  i hate heights.  my knees get really weak and i feel like i’m gonna fall to my death even if i’m just standing on a chair to change a lightbulb.  there’s just something about being high up that just scares the stuffing out of me.

this week, i’ve somewhat conquered my fear of heights.  i’ve been put in so many high places this week, it’s not even funny.  if you didn’t know, i’m in vegas this week on vacation with my family for christmas.  and also, if you didn’t know, vegas is full of high hotels.  so here’s my week of heights:

1) our family’s hotel room is pretty high up and we have a balcony view of the strip.  so i got up my courage and stepped out on the balcony and looked straight down.  i even hung out on the balcony one night just looking out on the city.  in yo face!!

2) we went into paris hotel and went up the eiffel tower replica.  it’s pretty high up.  half the size of the original, but the original is freaking high anyways.  so we got to go out on the observation deck and i got to record the bellagio water fountain test show.  in yo other face!!

3) today we drove to the grand canyon and got to step out on the ledge of the grand canyon.  i didn’t go all the way to the edge, but i got pretty darn close.  my mom on the other hand, who i get my irrational fears from, walks straight up to the edge, looks straight down and mockingly calls me a scaredy-cat.  however, i did get to redeem myself.  me and my sister went out to the skywalk which is this glass walkway over the grand canyon.  i went out there like a champ and looked straight down.  in yo motha’s face!!

so me and my sister were talking about fears of heights.  for me, i’m afraid when there’s no barriers preventing plummeting to your death.  as long as i know there’s some kind of safety measure, i’m cool.  my sister on the other hand, just doesn’t like to look straight down, barrier or not.  which i find interesting because i think my sister’s one of the bravest people i know.

so what kind of heights-fearer are you (if you are one)?  are you less afraid with a barrier?  or are you less afraid with just open space?

Written by enoch

December 25, 2008 at 12:19 am

Posted in from my mind

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m with you on that. barriers make me feel safer. i’m not really a heights-fearer, but it’s just the thought that i might die from falling if there’s no barrier. it could be that i’m more afraid of death than heights.. or in this case.. the exhilaration of falling and agony of crashing onto .. the asphalt ground. ouch..

    heej

    December 25, 2008 at 1:24 am

  2. that’s friggin scary. i’m afraid of all heights, barrier or not. even with the barrier, i’m afraid that the barrier will break. i think glass is the worst barrier of all because it’s so easily breakable. like iron poles or fencing is better. but glass, you throw a rock or something and you’re a goner.

    lilian

    December 25, 2008 at 2:50 am

  3. yall have to try the glasselevator..berry berry fun!^__^…usually they r at fancy hotel…^__^…

    Anonymous

    December 25, 2008 at 11:42 am

  4. i plan to not look down during rapture.

    hyungulee

    December 26, 2008 at 1:32 am

  5. as long as i’m safe and nobody pushes me over the ledge.

    dtongkas

    December 26, 2008 at 3:51 am

  6. funny post, I laughed out loud. yeah dude, you and mom were rockstars on this trip! very impressed! and i totally agree with lilian… glass is the most freakin scariest barrier. hate glass!

    alice

    December 27, 2008 at 6:31 pm


Leave a Reply

