chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

get out of my space!!

with 6 comments

elbow-room2so i went to see cirque du soleil’s kooza the other night and it was really good.  however, most of my night was ruined by the guy sitting next to me.  so here’s how the seating went.  three chairs down from my left was a rather large woman.  seated next to her was a very muscular, big, tall man.  and next to him was another very muscular, big, tall man.  and then there was me, a not so muscular, but big, tall man.  oh yeah, did i mention the seats were very small with no elbow room?

so the guy sitting next to me was practically spilling over to about a third of my chair space.  his elbow would dig into my ribs, and with every clap my left arm would be shaking voilently because his arm was strangely sticking to mine, and his left came wayyyyy over to my side where it didn’t matter how much i scooted over, his leg would always be touching my leg.

i gave him the benefit of the doubt and reasoned that he was all over me because of the two other rather large people on the other side of him, but still, there was no effort to stay on his side.  me, i need my personal space.  when going through a crowded room or crowded line, i make sure, to the best of my ability, not to touch anyone.  and when sitting down although i, like many guys, like to stretch their legs to other chair spaces, i’ll sit uncomfortably with my legs together if someone is sitting next to me just so i can maintain my own bubble.

so what was up with this guy?  he made no effort to not be touching me.  whenever he’d take a sip from his champagne (i think?), the whole motion of his drinking would involve his elbow running up the side of my arm.  who does that?!?  you would think guys wouldn’t want to touch each other.  and this might answer it, but maybe not, but i think he was gay.  which doesn’t bother me, i just wanted my space and he wouldn’t budge.

so please, if you’re even sitting next to me, give me some space unless you want to see my back spasm uncontrollably from sitting so uncomfortably for a long time.

Written by enoch

February 12, 2009 at 10:08 am

Posted in social observation

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. if america continues to give stats on what percentage of americans are obese.. i think they should start making standard seats bigger. kooza seats were way too space confined.

    heej

    February 12, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  2. maybe he has lost his ability to feel things. he didn’t realize he was crowding into your space, because he’s so big and he ALWAYS is touching something, someplace in his body, and it’d drive him mad if he were to keep track of everything that did touch him 😛

    HG

    February 12, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  3. i find this to be incredibly troublesome on airplanes.

    it makes me mad b/c i am paying for my space and i should be able to use my space to the fullest extent.

    bleh! i was sitting next to a lady who had to cross her arms and she was still spilling over into my seat! her thigh was touching my thigh and it was warm….bleh. i don’t even think i was able to put down the arm rest. so uncomfortable. big people should be required to pay for first class seats if they are impinging on the space of their neighbor.

    kt

    February 12, 2009 at 6:03 pm

  4. I felt uncomfortable just reading. this.

    JK

    February 12, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  5. oh yeah, it made me nervous. my mom was sitting so close to me, she kept screaming in my ear. not nice at all..

    owie

    February 13, 2009 at 4:35 pm

  6. ditto mrHJ;;im a huge giant and i dunno whenn i get into peoples way..

    Anonymous

    February 14, 2009 at 10:15 am


Leave a Reply

