chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

dwi

with 2 comments

dwii think i have an understanding of what it means to be drunk.  and not only that, but to drive drunk.  take it easy, i wasn’t drunk.  before any rumors go out about how “pastor” enoch was driving drunk, let me explain:

so my roommate asked me to take him to marta (metro atlanta rapid transit authority) at 5:30 so he could go to the airport.  i woke up at 5:30 and helped him carry his suitcase down to my car.  i think it was raining, i don’t really remember.  so we drive to the marta station, we’re talking, i’m driving, and it hits me.  i am not aware of anything i am doing.  did i just ask a question?  oh crap, if i did ask a question, did my roommate just answer?  what was the question?  where am i going?  did i pass it?  did i just run a red light?  are my headlights on?  am i going to die?

and with this, we safely made it to the marta station, he gets off and i drive home, totally unaware of anything that just happened or is about to happen.  i think i swerved a little bit.  i was trying so hard to focus on driving and making it back home in one piece.  i think this is one of the most tiredest i have ever been.  i couldn’t help but think, “thank God i’m a good driver.”  i felt like i was on autopilot.  i check my blindspots without having to think about it, put my windshield wipers on, turned on my headlights (i think).  i parked and went upstairs and passed out in my bed.  i could literally feel my brain stop tensing up as it turned itself off for me to go to bed.  then i woke up and my power went out.

“what just happened?  I’m so confused right now.  did i just drive through a tornado?  did my roommate make his flight?  am i alive right now?  did that all just happen?”

i was so confused i kept flicking on light switches even after i knew the power was out.  i’d say things to myself like, “at least i can still use the internet,” or “maybe i’ll cook something,” or “i know, maybe i’ll just take my mind off of this by watching some tv.”  wow, i was so out of it.

wow, i never want to be drunk.  ever.

Written by enoch

April 13, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow haha sounds dangerous.

    HG

    April 14, 2009 at 4:52 am

  2. After going to church for every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, I feel like I’m always on autopilot when I drive to church.

    Dansin

    April 14, 2009 at 1:07 pm


Leave a Reply

