chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

just the facts

with 2 comments

tridenti like to be as concise as possible.  i don’t like to talk more than i have to and i don’t want other people to talk more than they have to.  i just want my information and that’s it.  however, i know a couple of people that must know everything about a topic/event/question/answer.  and i don’t know why, but for some reason, they think i’m the best person to ask for all this.  this is how the conversation usually goes:

me: i heard that 4 out of 5 dentists recommend chewing trident

friend: oh yeah?  what does the other dentist recommend?

me: i don’t know

friend: why do they recommend trident?

me: i don’t know

friend: what kind of dentists are these?  orthodontists or periodontist?

me: i don’t know

friend: why wouldn’t the recommend orbit or extra?

me: look, i really don’t know.  i just saw a commercial that said that 4 out of 5 dentists recommend trident.  that’s all.

friend (with a sense of disgust): oh

it makes me not want to share interesting facts in the future with them cause i know they’re just going to barrage me with questions.  however, i haven’t learned my lesson because i keep sharing stuff with them.  i dunno, is there something wrong with me for not wanting or caring to know all these other details about an interesting fact?  or is there something wrong with my friends for wanting to know every single detail about any and every fact?  ok, maybe not something wrong cause i know that everyone’s different, but is there something “not normal” about these tendencies?

or here’s another scenario: sometimes someone will tell me about something that happened that’s public, and i’ll tell someone else and they’ll ask me about the event.  and then i’ll be like, “i dunno, i didn’t ask.”  sometimes this is kinda bad for me cause i won’t get all the information i need and i’ll have to go back and ask again.  i guess i just feel like as long as i know that something happened, that’s enough for me.  that’s kind of how i read the news too.  i just read headlines until i feel something is really worth looking more into.  i’m pretty content with just knowing that the “cash for clunkers” program is still going on without knowing why or for how long or whatever.

where do you guys stand on this?  need to know basis or need to know everything basis?

Written by enoch

August 3, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Posted in social observation

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oy, i’m like you. i don’t need to fill my head w/ unnecessary(?) additional information in my head. i’ve got enough going on. i know folks who insists on sharing and i tend to tune them out. they seriously sound like characters from peanut cartoons. (wah wah wah~)

    owie

    August 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  2. I can see how that can get annoying, but I think those are generally good “habits.” I grew up barraging my parents with questions, but how would I ever learn some things if I didn’t? I think it’s good to take things with a grain of salt and try to explore a little more in depth. I’m sure if everyone preferred just the facts it would make all the lives of the marketers a whole lot easier. Of course you always have to sift through what’s “junk” and what’s /relevant/ with you.. and that my friend is different with every one of us.

    I really wish I never got introduced to politics. That is a world where you take EVERYTHING with a grain of salt. It seems as though every politician has hidden motives and agendas. It’s hard to take the words they say for face value. I’m sure there are plenty of good politicians out there, but you can say in a way that I’m traumatized (because of all the hidden truths, lies, motives, etc. that have come to light) and that I will never look at politicians the same way again. Facts don’t apply in that world.

    dk

    August 3, 2009 at 6:55 pm


Leave a Reply

