chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

excitement pwned

with 2 comments

pwnedthis entry might be a little cliche, but bear with me.

last week i had the fortuitous chance to fill up on gas for 2.27/gal while everywhere else were selling for 2.47 and up.  i was soooooo excited.  i twittered, which gets sent to my facebook as well, i bust out my camera phone and took pictures of the gas price tower thing where the gas station sign is.  i mean, i was going crazy.  i was ecstatic.  i was really running low on gas and was waiting an extra day or so to fill up on gas hoping it would go down and then i run into this.  it was as if fate had drawn my gas-guzzling suv into this shell gas station at that moment to quench it’s insatiable and expensive thirst for this liquid gold.

as i’m driving out of the gas station an on my way home with a smug, content, “take that, world!” look on my face, it hits me.  am i that excited to save 20 cents per gallon on some gas?  (YES!!!!)  ok, i am.  dude, i saved at least 3 bucks and some change on that one gas trip.  but then i thought about it.  why aren’t i that excited about Jesus?  He’s definitely worth more than the 3 bucks i saved right then.  doesn’t He deserve a twitter update?  (and an excited one at that).  and if i could take a pic of Jesus with my camera phone, i definitely would’ve posted it up on facebook in a heartbeat.  why am i not as excited about this person who is way bigger than discount gas?  that kind of put me in my place.  really put things into perspective.

excitement.  pwned.

Written by enoch

August 26, 2009 at 10:29 am

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think there are lots of different ways to be excited bout Jesus. You’re in seminary, praise band, thinking of starting small groups, going to be a counselor at the retreat, helping with the retreat, being kind, and more! (: maybe its how we express ourselves..

    dk

    August 26, 2009 at 10:56 am

  2. Yeah. That’s like me not saying that my website is http://www.carolinasucks.com

    I got so excited about hating on Carolina, but then I realize that they are my largest network of friends on Facebook… :mrgreen:

    tonEX

    August 27, 2009 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

