chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

the secret of seminary

with 5 comments

columbia seminary_01ok, so maybe not THE secret, but A big secret of seminary.  in the past almost 2 years that i’ve been in seminary, there’s this one common theme i’ve seen in most of my classes.  many of my professors have shared this secret with me indirectly.  and maybe my fellow students haven’t figured this out either.  i am very astute, you know.  but i know once i share it, many seminarians (at least at my school) will be like, “ahhhhh, so true!”

the secret to seminary is this: to make a very deep and thought-provoking question, just flip the subject and the article of almost any sentence.  what?  yeah.  that’s the secret.  for instance, this is what we learned in preaching class:

professor: you don’t read the Bible, you let the Bible read you.

class: ooooooooooooohhhhhhh…

and this has been the case in most of my classes.  you didn’t choose church history, church history chose you.  vanilla ice cream isn’t delicious, delicious is vanilla ice cream.  you know, stuff like that.  and the whole class is just awe-struck by these comments.  i’m not gonna lie, sometimes i’m awe-struck too.  i should try talking like that from now on:

friend: hey enoch, what are you going to do today?

me: no no, it’s not what i’m going to do today, it’s what today is going to do to me.

friend: you’re a dork.

maybe that’s what they do when they get their doctorates, learn the proper uses of this trick so that they seem more introspective and meaningful instead of dorky and loser-ish.

Written by enoch

September 12, 2009 at 1:14 pm

Posted in from my mind

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA~!

    I remember Pastor Ken saying one of these.

    Dansin

    September 12, 2009 at 1:19 pm

  2. uh, you’re a dork…

    owie

    September 14, 2009 at 1:03 pm

  3. truth stands on its head to call attention to itself. 🙂

    HG

    September 17, 2009 at 4:11 pm

  4. Ok, I feel like I can handle seminary now with those brilliant statements and the secrets revealed.
    I feel like I am watching “Magics Biggest secrets revealed”
    Thanks for the wise words.

    Kyle Reed

    September 29, 2009 at 11:22 am

  5. haha. this is so epic.

    John (Human3rror)

    September 29, 2009 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

