chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

function vs. value

with 2 comments

stealinghahaha!!  i saw this pic and it made me laugh.

so me and the girlfriend “argue” about this every once in a while.  here’s the scenario:

we step out of my car and i’ll leave my ipod plugged into my car in plain view on my dock and she says to me,

“are you just going to leave it out like that?”

and i’m like, “yeah, we’re going out again in a little while.”

“you should hide it or take it out.”

“why?”

“i dunno, someone might steal it.”

i’m sure a lot of people can relate to my girlfriend’s side of the scenario.  i do too.  but, i realized what it is that makes me seem “careless” or “trusting” with my stuff.  for me, an ipod is a music player.  it functions as something that plays music.  i don’t understand why people would steal something that just plays music when there are plenty of those everywhere.  what i don’t take into account is the value of the music player.  to me it’s just a music player, i don’t see it as an expensive music player.

maybe i’m just a little naive.  sometimes i just “forget” to lock my car door or don’t lock the door when i step out of the apartment for a little while.  some people would think this is crazy, but for me, i just don’t see why people would want my stuff.  i mean, it’s personal.  it’s used.  it’s customized to my personality.  why would anyone want it?  and yet, the reality is that people do steal your stuff.  i suppose i’m just a little too trusting in humanity.

i guess being in seminary kind of spoils me.  no one steals anything here.  you can leave your stuff in your classroom overnight and expect it to be there the next morning.  in fact, i’m sure you’ll get like 50 emails saying, “hey, i saw your stuff in the classroom last night and so i stood watch over it to make sure no one stole it.”  however, the sad this is, at church, if you leave your stuff overnight or forget something one day, it’s as good as gone.  how sad is that?  i thought i lost my ipod the other day at church and so i went to the lost and found.  they asked me what i lost and i said an ipod.  they said, “oh, those never turn up.  we’ll let you know if we find anything, but no one ever turns those in.”  i was like, wow, that sucks.  at church?  for real?  no one would turn that in?  so sad.

so the moral is: i guess i should be a little more careful with my stuff.

Written by enoch

October 20, 2009 at 10:55 am

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i left my umbrella last week at seminary
    and when i went back a friend was bringing it down for me!

    but i know about church 😦

    miso

    October 20, 2009 at 11:22 am

  2. all the pastors at kcpc in km and em should do sermons about stealing. (:

    dk

    October 20, 2009 at 11:51 pm


Leave a Reply

