chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

enoch: origins

with 4 comments

this past thanksgiving break, i had a great time with family.  i think the most memorable moment was when we were all gathered around the dining table for our traditional thanksgiving lunch.  it felt a little weird cause for as long as i can remember, we’ve always had company over, but this year it was just the 4 of us.

i prayed for the meal and then we dug in.  our traditional korean food mixed with traditional thanksgiving sides.  we got into a conversation about our names (me and my sister’s names).  we asked why our middles names were “one”.  yes, our middle names are one.  if you haven’t read my about me and this site page, check it out.  we had asked previously, but my parents always joked around and never gave us an acceptable answer.

so my sister asks, “why is our middle name one?”  our parents then begin to explain that my father’s generation all have the name “won” in their names.  and so my sister asks, “so why is our middle name o-n-e?”  my mom goes, “one?”  we’re like, “yeah.”  she then turns to me and asks, “so what’s your middle name?”  and i respond, “o-n-e”.  she takes a little pause while looking a little surprised, and then turns to both of us and says, “oh, sorry.”

hahaha!!!   we then explained how we used to get made fun of growing up whenever people would ask us our middle names.  she then tries to make amends and says, “we can get it changed if you want.”  my sister and i were dying laughing.  all this time, our parents had no idea our middles names were incorrectly spelled in number format rather than normal korean name format.  we used to get teased so much for our middle names.  this is how the conversation  usually turned out.

someone: hey enoch, what’s your middle name?

me (after some hesitation): one

someone: oh, like w-o-n?

me: no… not like w-o-n.  that would make too much sense. it’s o-n-e

someone: oooooh…  wait, what’s your sister’s?

me: hers is one too

someone who’s a jerk: her middle name is one two?!?!?!

me (frustrated): no… her middle name is one also

someone who i will unfriend on facebook later: oh… that’s weird.

but take heart, we’re not going to change our middle names.  we’ve had a good run with our current ones (wow, no pun intended) and we’d like to stick with them.

Written by enoch

November 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm

Posted in from my mind

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 😀
    i hope that you and alice get to have an awesome thanksgiving sharing this story with your own kids in the future.

    heej

    November 30, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  2. that is a hilarious conversation! hahah.
    i was named after a street in front of my mom’s office. my brother’s name came from a plaque on the wall in the birthing room dedicated to a doctor.

    we have creative names, but they were never given much thought. 😛

    ivy

    November 30, 2009 at 4:39 pm

  3. HAHAHAHAHA 😀 broface, you captured the conversation perfectly!

    Alice

    November 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm

  4. i know this is so old but i just read it. 🙂
    my middle name is Son, my mom’s maiden name. my dad’s family would always tease me…. calling me crystal moon. or shouldn’t it be crystal daughter? … sigh. whatev. I had the opp. to change my middle name when i got married- but, kept it. 😉

    crys

    December 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm


Leave a Reply

