chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

i was thinking, overthinking

with 3 comments

ok, i am positive that this is a phenomenon that only occurs to me.  and if it applies to you, please let me know so i’ll feel a little better about my quirk.

has it ever happened that you’re having a conversation with some, a great conversation, and somewhere mid-conversation your brain automatically turns on and you start to think?  it is only then that your conversation head south in a hurry.  this happens to me ALL THE TIME.  i’m having a great conversation with someone and all of a sudden, i start thinking.  what do i think about?  well, i think about these things:

wow, this conversation is great, how can i keep it going?

how will i end this conversation?

should i ask a question here?

is the other person enjoying this conversation?

did i forget to do something today?

i wonder how i’m coming off?

how’s my body language?

eye contact?  too much, or not enough?

and most importantly, HOW CAN I STOP THINKING AND JUST GET BACK TO THE CONVERSATION?

and it is usually around the thought of this question that i completely lose it.  i go blank or maybe the other person is just allowed to talk forever and i’m stuck.  my only hope is that Jesus will come back right that instant so that our conversation will end.

needless to say, this makes for many an awkward conversation.  if i could just not think, things would be great.  but for some reason, my brain thinks that it’s on the clock when i just need it to sleep in longer and it clocks in, ready to go to work.

anyone else have this problem?

Written by enoch

March 29, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Posted in from my mind

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. uh, i usually just start another thought in my head, finish it out loud, then start another thought out loud, and finish it in my head. i’ve had many complaints.

    owie

    April 11, 2010 at 1:49 pm

  2. I know exactly what this is like. I’ve googled this sort of thing a lot, never found anyone to have the same problem. I think we are a rare breed.

    Matthew Protz

    June 7, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  3. thanks for replying matthew. it feels good to know i’m not the only one. i’d like to categorize us as “overactive thinkers”. it’d cool you googled it. and what’s cooler is that my blog post came up. nice!!

    enoch

    June 7, 2011 at 10:09 pm


Leave a Reply

