chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

the sound of music

with one comment

one of my all-time favorite musicals.  i used to watch it with my mom at least once a month on our old recorded vhs, and then me and my sister finally bought my mom the actual vhs.  maybe we should get her the dvd now…

but anyways, that’s not what this entry is about.

good luck talking to me if there’s music on in the background cause no matter what you’re saying, my ear is automatically going to tune in to the music and not your voice.  it doesn’t matter how soft the music is or how loud you’re speaking.  it’s like songs speak to me in a way that words can’t.  wow, that’s pretty deep.

i don’t know what it is.  the second i step into a room/store/building, the first thing i pay attention to is the music.  what kind of music, do i know the song, do i know the words?  i don’t think i can fully function in a room without first identifying the type and title of the song that’s playing.  then, and only then, can you speak to me.

this is how it usually happens:

friend: hey, so what do you want to order?  i hear the ________ (insert food) is really good.  it reminds me of this one time a long time ago when my grandmother used to make it for me from scratch whenever i had to stay home from school when i was sick during the winter.  did you have snow days when you were younger?  blah blah blah… wait…  enoch?

me: (completely oblivious to everything my friend just said.  i’m looking up at the ceiling where the speakers are with a very puzzled look on my face like i’m trying to do long division in my head)

friend: enoch!

me: oh, sorry.  what were you saying?

friend: i was wondering what you were going to order.

me: oh, i was going to order the… TORN!  my natalie imbruglia!!  THAT’S IT!!!  whew!  ok.  now what were you saying again?

there was this one time where i was with my sister i think.  and we were at a restaurant and having a conversation.  all of a sudden, the conversation just stops.  neither of us speaks.  after a little silence, we wonder why the other person wasn’t talking anymore.  then we realized we had both stopped talking to listen to the song that was coming out of the speakers trying to figure out what song it was.

so if you’re talking to me, you better make sure i have already figured out what song is playing, and you better make sure that you have my attention cause when it comes to my ears, music will almost always win over speaking.

Written by enoch

June 8, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Posted in from my mind

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. awesomme!^^__^

    Anonymous

    June 8, 2010 at 7:05 pm


Leave a Reply

