chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

seconds to years

with 2 comments

one time in middle school, on a friend’s birthday, another one of our friends wrote “every birthday is another year closer to death” on the white board.  kinda morbid.  anyways, our teacher comes in and sees it and tells him to erase it.  he goes up to erase it only to find he accidentally wrote in permanent marker.  i think it came off over time.

the passage of time intrigues me.  maybe that’s why so many of my entries are about different things i’ve noticed as i’ve gotten older, wondering where the time has gone.

i look at college pictures of myself and am reminded of a more youthful me.  age lines on my face tell me that i’m not that kid anymore.  where has the time gone?  when i look at myself, i don’t feel any older.  i thought growing older meant being wiser, more mature, knowing how to navigate the world.  but as i get older i realize that i still don’t know how to do any of that.  maybe it’s that my expectations grow as i get older and so i’m always falling short of my newer, more mature expectations.  or maybe it’s just that i haven’t really changed since i was a hopeful young boy, still waiting to become a man.

all i know is that the world is not going to wait for me.  i learned that very quickly as most of my friends got engaged or married and even more quickly when half of all of my friends are currently pregnant or expecting a child.

the concept of time is so unique to me.  someone once said that it’s one thing that you can never get back.  there will never be another 10:32pm on sunday, september 19, 2010.  it’s gone forever.  was it wasted?  or used wisely?  what about the next minute?  or the next?  there will never be another minute like it.  i guess i’m wasting it now since i’m blogging instead of writing my paper (as is usually the case when i’m blogging).

Written by enoch

September 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i think this entry itself is a step closer to becoming wiser and mature.. don’t you think so? or is that my kid-like, immature perspective of wiser you?

    heej

    September 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  2. awessume!!^__^

    Anonymous

    September 20, 2010 at 6:17 pm


Leave a Reply

