chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

vacation

with 6 comments

i seriously don’t remember the last time i had a vacation, the last time i got away from everything just for myself and not for anyone else.  usually when i go out of town, it’s for a reason, for someone else.  i’ve been out of town to help my sister move, to stand in a wedding, to help more people move, to be with family.  that last one might sound like a vacation, but trust me, my family vacations are work and not relaxing AT ALL.

truth is: i don’t know what it’s like to take a break.  my mother is a huge workaholic.  i think in a way i’m similar to her.  i can’t take a break from working.  part of it is because i literally cannot or am not allowed to take a break.  between being a full-time student, a TA for 2 masters level classes, a “part-time” intern for a korean-american church (which, if you know anything about the korean-american church, is anything but part time), and doing work study to pay for my tuition, there isn’t much i can take a break from.  the other part is because i don’t even know how to go about doing it.

this season is the busiest i’ve ever been in my entire life.  and for some reason, i don’t believe any of my authority figures know/care about that.  maybe i can live vicariously through you guys.  could someone tell me what a vacation looks like?  i’m really intrigued by the concept.  i honestly have no idea what one looks like.

Written by enoch

September 21, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Posted in from my mind

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you’re easily able to become an indispensable person. One side, it’s good because it shows your character and talents but on the other, you end up committing to a lot of different things because on paper you’re able to do them all well. But I do think things only get busier and busier as years progress. As soon as you think you got enough “experience” to handle a certain work load another bigger wave ends up crashing down. Not sure why that is, but I can only trust that it’s helpful. I really do hope you can get a vacation sometime soon though. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Sunday without you (except maybe when you’re out of town for family) or ever heard that you’re planning to not be around on a Sunday for vacation. I appreciate all that you do and I know there are many others that feel the same way To me.. you’re an indispensable friend!

    David

    September 22, 2010 at 1:29 am

  2. What about that camping trip we took?

    Nate

    September 22, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  3. With the bears… outside… in the cold… with two tents pitched up… stupid EJ!

    Nate

    September 22, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  4. if i were an alpha female sugar mama.. i’d be so hot right now – i’d tell all your authority figures that you’re taking a vacation and actually fly you out 🙂 mm~ that alpha female sugar mama.. so hot right now..

    heej

    September 22, 2010 at 4:32 pm

  5. awesumeee!__^

    Anonymous

    September 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  6. That is a pretty comfortable looking pink chair there! Staycations are just as good IMO.

    Are you taking vacay in between Christmas and New Year’s this year? (Dec 27th through 30th)? :mrgreen:

    I hope that you can get some R&R soon. I make it a point to take some time off — otherwise I’d go insane(r).

    Welp,

    X

    September 22, 2010 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

