chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

chicks dig scars

with one comment

i had this thought as i was checking out my face in the mirror.  i have this one scar that i got when i was a baby.  my mom told me i got it from scratching myself.  it’s this one kind of indentation on my right cheek right underneath my eye.  i’ve had it for as long as i can remember.

i have another scar on my leg i got from hiking in the woods.  there was a thorny plant that hooked onto my leg and it remains to this day.

i have this faint scar on my arm.  i have no idea where it came from, but it’s pretty long.  i’m guessing it’s from one of my violent sleep episodes.  it’s from my bicep to the middle of my forearm.

what am i getting at here?

scars don’t affect peoples’ personalities.  i have all these scars, but i’m still the same person.  it’s not like i wake up everyday and say, oh yeah, i have a scar on my face, i must act accordingly.  however, for myself, i know that i judge other people by their scars, by things that don’t affect their personality.

sometimes i’m embarrassed by my scars, as if they told the world everything about me.  and maybe people do read into my scars (i’m a crazy sleeper, my mom obviously never stopped me from scratching my face as a kid, i’m a horrible hiker, etc.), but that doesn’t mean that my personality is affected by my scars.  and i admit, i tend to do that with other people.  i judge them based on criteria that they cannot help, that has nothing to do with their personality, just by their looks.  and the thing is, we all have scars.  we can’t just judge others without thinking that we’re not being judged ourselves.

maybe we just all need some neosporin, or maybe we can start understanding one another before we judge them based on their appearances.

Written by enoch

October 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Posted in from my mind

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you made a good point. i like this entry 🙂

    heej

    October 20, 2010 at 10:13 am


Leave a Reply

