chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

ain’t too proud to beg

with 2 comments

i don’t like asking for help.  i think it stems from how i was raised.  everything was done for me.  i wasn’t allowed to make mistakes.  so now, i’d rather fail miserably and know that i did it myself than to do something right the first time with someone doing it for me and not learning anything from it.

i think this is an admirable trait.  however, it can also cause my downfall sometimes.  sometimes you need help.  my stubbornness can get the best of me.  sometimes failing on my own is not beneficial for me.  sometimes, asking for help would help me grow more than doing things on my own.

i need to be able to ask for help sometimes, even at the cost of my pride.

are you able to ask for help?  or are you as stubborn as me?

Written by enoch

April 11, 2011 at 11:20 am

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was always taught asking for help = failing. So yeah, not good at it. Which can be problematic in life as an adult.

    Leah g

    April 11, 2011 at 11:25 am

  2. you’re (we’re) definitely in the majority. i think we’re prewired not to ask for help.

    but i like that you wrote, ‘sometimes, asking for help would help me grow more than doing things on my own.” so true.

    and you can look at it this way… (coming from a agnostic — ma disclaimer…) if we can ask the Man upstairs for help, it sort of makes it easier to ask mere humans for help…

    kan

    April 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm


Leave a Reply

