chang|e one's mind

i wrote a song… in my mind

cool parents

with 2 comments

c’mon, who doesn’t want to be cool parents?

it’s been really interesting now that one of my best friends has a daughter.  i mean, i’ve seen babies and held them and stuff, but it’s really different watching your close friend be a parent.  i mean, there’s a lot of love involved in taking care of a kid.  it made me think of how my parents must’ve taken care of me.  and as i was thinking about my parents, i thought of a couple of the coolest things they’ve done in my life:

when i was a little chubby kid in 3rd or 4th grade, i loooooved mcdonalds.  for one of their toy promotions, they were giving looney tunes figures dressed in superhero costumes.  back then, it wasn’t a random toy in your happy meal.  each week the toy would change in the series (i think that’s how it worked).  so if you wanted the next toy, you had to wait a week.  we didn’t eat out that often but for some reason, my parents were all for helping me get all 4 or 5 toys.  so for those 4 or 5 weeks, my parents would take the family out to mcdonalds just so that i could get the next toy.  looking back, i’m really shocked they did that.

i have this messenger bag i use to put my guitar stuff in (cables, tuner, direct box, etc.).  if you’ve seen it, you’ll know that it has a bunch of buttons on it of punk, emo, and hardcore bands that i used to listen to when i was in high school/college.  there’s even a couple patches on there.  i remember when i bought those patches, i was at a concert and hoped to put them on my bag.  so i brought the bag to my mom since she does alterations.  i mean, who better to trust with sewing patches than a seamstress?  now, my mom is very particular about clothes, dress, fabrics, and whatnot.  growing up, she wouldn’t let me wear what i wanted because of the color, cut, fabric, style of the clothes.  so when i brought the messenger bag to my mom, i thought for sure she’d tell me how i should get rid of the bag because it was getting old, or that i should get rid of the ugly buttons.  she didn’t.  she took the bag, sewed the patches on, and gave it back to me no questions asked.  her lack of criticism for my bag was one of the coolest things she’s ever done.  (however, when i asked her to sew the shoulder strap back on after it broke, she told me to get rid of it, but i still have it).

what’s the coolest thing your parents have done?

Written by enoch

May 31, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Posted in from my mind

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is my second favorite among all your posts, after the one about your grandma. This had me thinking about my parents for a while…

    Taeha

    May 31, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  2. I lost my sister’s passport and her permanent resident card 3 days before she was supposed to fly out to korea and caused unexpected trips to government offices, and expenses. It was my fault that they were missing (I probably have thrown it away accidentally while cleaning) but none of them blamed it on me. Especially my parents.. later I talked to them and they said that they already saw that I was under stress, so they let me be and said no word about it.

    That’s probably the closest to coolest thing my parents have done for me.. Other than that…

    heej

    June 1, 2011 at 9:56 am


Leave a Reply

